Bob Higgins

Juggalos,Tila Tequila, Pop Culture, “Understanding The Dynamic?”

Posted in Arts and Entertainment, News, Politics by Bob Higgins on August 15, 2010
Bookmark and Share

Some time Saturday while I was engaged in writing a piece about some of the deranged politicians who “walk among us,” in the sleepy little hamlet of Carterville, in southern Illinois, (Pop. 4000) at a gathering of the possibly insane, a celebrity, model, and “actress,” named “Tila Tequila” was attacked by a crowd of hundreds of something called Juggalos, pelted with “huge stone rocks,” beer bottles, and if reports are to be believed, the contents of a nearby latrine.

Downtown Carterville

I’ve never heard of Juggalos, apparently they are followers or fans of a “hip hop” group called “Insane Clown Posse” that records for Psychopathic Records. Honest, I’m not making this up.

Being aware of the facts in the sentence above, (I must assume there were signs, handbills, posters, etc.) I’m forced to wonder why any reasonable person would  mount the stage to “perform” or whatever it is that Ms. Tequila” does.

Voluntarily, that is, I understand that mounting the gallows is usually done under some duress.

What triggered the crowd’s reaction or if this was part of the tradition and on the program, has not been being divulged, but a witness reported that:

… the crowd of about 2,000 was immediately angry toward Tequila and she was unable to turn them around. “She was taunting them,” he said.

“She didn’t know how to handle them.  She didn’t understand the dynamic.”

The rocks and bottles flew harder and faster when Tequila bared her breasts, he said.

“She took her top off and they got really violent,” he saidFrom Alan Duke CNN

I guess that “not understanding the dynamic” isn’t well received in Carterville, and for reasons beyond my understanding, the sight of bared breasts just makes things worse.

Yes, I respect small town propriety but this was an “Insane Clown,” “psychopath,””Juggalo” gathering, naked boobs would be a calming influence, or so it seems to me.

I usually shy away from “pop culture” stories although like everyone else who watches and listens to the cable news networks I’m bombarded with a near ceaseless stream of the kind of public sleaze that drives ratings, water cooler “conversation,” and pushes retail these days.

This story though, somehow touched me. Don’t ask why, it comes from some limbic area that I don’t talk about publicly. Normally.

Reading the few paragraphs available on this summer story from “Carterville,” brought to my mind images of small town courthouses, civil war statues, gazebos in bucolic village square parks and teenagers, slowly driving old convertibles  in aimless circles, on Friday night streets smelling of freshly mowed hay and Old Spice.

Strangely though, there came also visions of bizarrely costumed Tea Party followers demonstrating with misspelled signs, venom, vitriol and the foam of righteous rabidity on their lips.

Is the culture informing our politics or are our politics informing the culture? Both?

What planet is this?

As part of the investigation that I immediately launched, (The “I” Team) I went to YouTube to gain some insight into these insane clown dudes and their psychopathic label. What I discovered was annoying noise,…  make that extremely annoying noise, so I gave up that avenue of research.

I’ll leave them alone as long as they don’t play that crap in front of my house and stay the hell off my lawn.

I’m going to stay away from pop culture… I just don’t understand the dynamic.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Editor said, on August 16, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Like I said before, this event did NOT happen in Carterville. Check your facts before you start writing. The least you can do is correct your statements.

  2. bobhiggins said, on August 16, 2010 at 10:21 am

    When I see a correction from AP where I picked up the story I may or may not post a correction. As I understand it Cave In Rock is down the road a ways from Carterville and the event probably occurred on private ground in the vicinity of both.

    But I’ll leave it for now because it’s not a big issue and I have other things to do, but mostly because it will keep your shorts in a wad and I find that bit of “action at a distance” wonderfully amusing.

  3. […] Originally posted at my site Bob Higgins […]


Leave a Reply

