Bob Higgins

Rise as an Army and Reelect the President

Posted in Election 2010, Politics by Bob Higgins on October 4, 2012

Bookmark and Share

On Tuesday a friend asked if I intended to watch last night’s debate and I told him probably not. I’ve watched Romney and his privileged prep school routine for years. He wears a smirking upper class disdain for his inferiors (which covers just about everyone) like body armor or more self righteously, like temple underwear and you can read on his face the pompous knowledge that the rest of us are not similarly attired.

I knew going in that nothing would happen in this debate that would change my vote to reelect the president. I told my friend that I would read the transcript the morning after. Being a political junkie I cheated. I watched but switched to the ball game, to an old movie, to a book every ten minutes or so. Whenever the dismal droning of the misinformation and posturing of the “debate” began to grate on my nerves I was able to find respite in the remote.

Reading the transcript this morning I quickly learned that my expectations were borne out by the reality of this ratings circus. A circus that was carried by every network and financed by the same corporate money that fuels these interminable election campaigns. There was nothing to learn here, nothing was said that hasn’t been repeated over and over for the last two years of sound bites, mendacious political ads, and media fueled public backbiting that we have somehow come to accept as the democratic process.

This election is about the struggle between classes, between labor and capitol in this country, in this world. The haves want more. They want much more, in fact they want everything and will not be satisfied until the rest of us are living in company dormitories, shopping in the company store and slaving for wages that would make us competitive with the various worker’s paradises that they’ve been shipping our jobs to for thirty years.

They want to control and profit from our labor, from our elections, our schools, our health care, our public lands, our airwaves, our air and water and they want a massive privatized prison system and “security” apparatus to enforce it all and provide yet another source of slave labor. They want to turn a steady, gigantic, guaranteed profit off the backs of humanity. They expect and believe that they have the divine right to make lucrative the expansion of human misery.

There is nothing Mitt Romney can say in any forum that will convince me that the smile on his face is anything other than a mask, an evil disguise, an attempt to divert my attention from the fact that he’s craftily sliding my wallet out of my pocket and placing it in his own.

I’ve never met a Romney that I trusted. I will continue to support the reelection of President Obama. There is only one decent man running for the office of president and that is the man who now holds it. He was given command four years ago and saddled with enormous problems that I believed then would take a generation to repair. These problems of wars, of greed, of criminal speculation and profiteering, of degenerate gambling and financial collapse were largely generated by conservative, republican policies by unregulated capitalists like Romney himself.

But, we neglected to provide the President with an army.

Reelect President Obama and this time give him that army, in the House, in the Senate and in the Courts.

On November 6, 2012 we must rise as an army and vote to reelect this president. We may not get another chance.

Bob Higgins

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. David Arnold said, on October 4, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Seems like one guy is telling the unpopular truth and the other is the snake oil salesman. Unfortunately, this nation isn’t a student of history. I hope I am wrong but it sure looks like everybody is tired of being told the truth and they are ready for a big ol’ steaming pile of “go ahead and run your credit cards up again”. Rest assured, the salesman appears to have some interested consumers already. That said, Obama will come out swinging in the next debate. Plenty of fight left in that dog. Let’s face it we need him more than he needs us.

    • Bob Higgins said, on October 4, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      You’re right Dave, snake oil has always been a hot commodity in this country especially when it’s steaming. And yes we do need him more than…as you say. His future is assured and ours, at least in the hands of Romney and the rest of the silk tie criminal element will be assured quite differently.

      Good to hear from you. Say Hi to Denny.

      • David Arnold said, on October 4, 2012 at 8:42 pm

        Really liked the post Bob. It is always refreshing when somebody can summarize exactly why I don’t like a guy (“…craftily sliding my wallet out of my pocket and placing it in his own.”) Standing ovation!!

        Will tell Denny you say hey when I see him. Do you still stop up to SS?

  2. Bob Higgins said, on October 5, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Thanks Dave. Yeah, I get to SS a couple afternoons a week in the afternoon for beer, pool and Nicole.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,035 other followers

